Camp Ho Non Wah HistoryA Scout is Trustworthy, Loyal, Helpful, Friendly, Courteous, Kind, Obedient, Cheerful, Thrifty, Brave, Clean, and Reverent.
The year is 1930. The Coastal Carolina Council approaches the Bailey Family concerning the use of their plantation for a Boy Scout Camp during the summer of 1931. That year, a small staff held the first summer camp here on the Bailey Plantation; camping in tents arranged in front of the original Bailey home, cooking in patrols, and enjoying the use of a small swimming hole. The success of that summer's program prompted the Bailey Family to arrange for Camp to be held each summer, here along the shores of the Bohicket River.
In the summer of 1932, the infant camp was christened Ho Non Wah, which means "The Land of Rising and Falling Waters". Over the years, the Coastal Boys Council acquired more and more property around Ho Non Wah. In the late 30's, a dining hall was built where the Chapel stands today, and the first established campsites were cleared, equipped with Adirondack cabins. In 1943, an Order of the Arrow Lodge - Unali'yi Lodge 236 - became instrumental in the camp's continuing development. During Unali'yi's first Ordeal, a boat dock, currently known as Hanckel Landing, was constructed in the Bohicket River. 1946 marked the year that the swimming hole was replaced by our pool, and in the interest of expanding the already-impressive aquatics program, the body of water now named Lake McGee was excavated. Further, in front of what is now our handicraft area, a Trading Post and Quartermaster's shed was constructed and a health lodge was built in front of what is now the activity field. In 1951, the nature lodge was built and dedicated to J. Rucker Newbery, the founder of Unali'Yi Lodge, while in 1957, the pageant grounds, then constructed with concrete blocks, were built in what we now call our Council Ring. In 1959, Hurricane Gracey slammed through Beaufort, hitting Ho Non Wah with the most dangerous of the storms' wind, tearing off the second floor of the original Bailey Home. In 1976, Ho Non Wah became the first Bicentennial Camp in America to include ceremonies commemorating the Bicentennial of the United States of America. Over the years, Ho Non Wah has continued to grow and flourish. In '81, renovations of Camp Ho Non Wah began and by the summer of '85, Camp had a new dining hall, trading post and staff center. In 1989, renovations approached completion with the dedication of the Council Ring, followed by the 1994 dedication of the health lodge. Over the past several years, renovations have taken place to restore the Bailey House to its original two stories.
Since 1931, Camp Ho Non Wah has instilled the values of Scouting and leadership in the lives of thousands of young men. Regardless of whether you came to the Land of Rising and Falling Waters as a camper, leader or staff member, the experience, friendships, and memories of Ho Non Wah will endure forever.